Login to myLSU Baton Rouge, Louisiana |

Faculty Research Interests

  Name Contact Research Interests

Dr. Louise Wicker

Louise Wicker

Director
Professor


297B Knapp Hall
225-578-6153

Lwicker@agcenter.lsu.edu
 
Karen Overstreet

Karen Overstreet

Associate Director
Professor


297D Knapp Hall
225-578-4494

koverstreet@agcenter.lsu.edu

 
Achyut Adhikari

Achyut Adhikari

Assistant Professor

263 Knapp Hall
225-578-2529

acadhikari@agcenter.lsu.edu
Working with producers on issues relating to the Food Safety Modernization Act
Michelle Ball

Michele Ball

251 Knapp Hall
225-578-6046

mball6@lsu.edu
Instructor
Sharman Charles

Sharman Charles

Instructor

271 Knapp Hall
225-578-1704

sjcharles@agcenter.lsu.edu
EFNEP Program Manager
Shellie Dore

Shellie Doré

Instructor

205 Knapp Hall
225-578-3661

sdore@lsu.edu
Foodservice Management, Dietetics Management, Quantity Food Production, Food Safety, ServSafe® Certification
Luis Espinoza

Luis Espinoza

Manager & Technical Services

149 Ingram Hall
225-578-3713

lespinoza@agcenter.lsu.edu
Food Incubator
Evelyn Gutierrez

M. Evelyn Gutierrez

Instructor

216 Animal and Food Sciences Laboratories
225-578-6304

megutierrez@agcenter.lsu.edu
Food Microbiology and Food Safety, coordinate Better Process Control School, Sanitation Control Procedures for Fish and Fishery Products, Basic Seafood HACCP, and Meat and Poultry HACCP trainings, and support food industry in food safety related areas
 

Hope Hickerson

Extension Associate
SNAP-ED

249 Knapp Hall
225-578-8112

hopem@lsu.edu
 
Marlene Janes Marlene E. Janes Professor
Graduate Coordinator

Ag Chemistry
225-342-5812 ext. 129

mjanes@agcenter.lsu.edu
Food Microbiology and Food Safety, Control/elimination of Listeria monoyctogenes, E. coli O157:H7, Shigella, Salmonella, Campylobacter, Vibrio, Bacillus cereus, Hepatitis A, and Norovirus in food and water
Denise Holston-West Denise Holston-West Instructor

201 Knapp Hall
225-578-4573

DHolston@agcenter.lsu.edu
Child Nutrition/Childhood Overweight and Obesity; Nutrition Communication; Nutrition Education; Community Nutrition; Disclosures in Healthcare Settings
Michael Keenan Michael J. Keenan Professor

209 Knapp Hall
225-578-1708

mkeenan@agcenter.lsu.edu
Study of the health effects of the dietary fermentable fiber, resistant starch, which includes molecular effects and the effect on the microbiota. This includes the study of the whole grain and non-whole grain forms of resistant starch and the effects of different dietary levels of fat on fermentation of resistant starch.
Joan King Joan M. King Professor
Undergraduate Coordinator

201J Animal and Food Sciences Laboratory Bldg
225-578-5157

jking@agcenter.lsu.edu
Ingredient development-especially resistant starch; ozone processing to remove unwanted chemicals; oxidation products in processed and stored foods
Carol Lammi-Keefe Carol Lammi-Keefe Alma Beth Clark Professor

297B Knapp Hall
225-578-1518

clammi-keefe@agcenter.lsu.edu
Omega-3 fatty acids in pregnancy and development, diabetes, postpartum depression, obesity. Functional foods
Jack N. Losso Jack N. Losso Professor

212 Food Science
225-578-3883

jlosso@agcenter.lsu.edu
Recovery of bioactive compounds for food and biomedical applications, identification/development of dietary anti-angiogenic functional foods/nutraceuticals
Brandi Milioto Brandi Milioto Instructor

257 Knapp Hall
225-578-1537

bmilioto@lsu.edu bmilioto@lsu.edu
Methods of nutritional assessment and nutrition education and counseling to promote behavior change
Judy Myhand Judy Myhand Instructor

219 Human Ecology
225-578-1718

jmyhand@agcenter.lsu.edu
 
Carol E. O'Neil Carol E. O'Neil Professor,
Class of 1941 Alumni Professor

261 Knapp Hall
225-578-1631

coneil1@lsu.edu
Diet and Health of Low Income Women, Food Security, Nutritional Epidemiology, Community Nutrition, Scholarship of Teaching and Learning
Witoon Prinyawiwatkul Witoon Prinyawiwatkul Professor

114-A Food Science
225-578-5188

wprinya@lsu.edu
Seafood/aquacultural byproducts/wastes; consumer-oriented product optimization and acceptance; statistical methods/ analyses in sensory research
Heli Roy Heli Roy Associate Professor

273 Knapp Hall
225-578-4486

hroy@agcenter.lsu.edu
General Nutrition & EFNEP

Childhood/Adult Obesity; Over-the-counter weight loss aids; Adolescent Eating Habits; Functional Food Intake; Nutrition and Chronic Disease
Gaye Sandoz

Gaye Sandoz

Coordinator

212 Wilson Hall
225-578-7213

gsandoz@agcenter.lsu.edu
Food Incubator
Diane Sasser

Diane Sasser

Professor

269 Knapp Hall
225-578-4448

dsasser@agcenter.lsu.edu
Systems Approach to Childhood Obesity Prevention
Subramaniam Sathivel Subramaniam Sathivel Professor

220 Wilson Hall
225-578-0614

ssathivel@agcenter.lsu.edu
Bioavailability of the micro or nano-encapsulated omega-3 fatty acids & bioactive compounds. Biodegradable matrix and colloidal system from seafood and agricultural byproducts. Non-thermal and thermal food processing technologies to prevent/reduce microbial loads in foods and improve food quality.
Georgianna Tuuri Georgianna Tuuri Associate Professor

255 Knapp Hall
225-578-1722

gtuuri@agcenter.lsu.edu
Examines food preferences and develops and tests nutrition and exercise interventions to promote healthy diets and active lifestyles, conducts community-based research with children and caregivers
 

Carla Verbois

Extension Associate
SNAP-ED

280 Knapp Hall
225-578-0485

Cverbois@agcenter.lsu.edu
 
 

Wenqing Xu

Assistant Professor

281 Knapp Hall
225-578-3997

Wenqing.Xu@agcenter.lsu.edu
 
Zhimin Xu Zhimin Xu Professor

201H Animal and Food Sciences Laboratory Bldg.
225-578-5280

zxu@agcenter.lsu.edu
Characterization of health promoting (bioactive) compounds in agricultural products; stability and utilization of bioactive compounds during post-harvest treatment, storage, and food processing
revised: 10-Mar-2017 10:19